I changed my own strings for the first time - success! Why and how!

revdj

Reaction score
Okay, so I started playing a couple of months ago, with a Malaka Dolphin. Fun, fun, fun! Some people said, "Oh! Get good strings ASAP!" Others were like "Oh! Don't worry about it." I decided not to get new strings for these reasons

1) I didn't know if I would like playing ukulele
2) I would be bad enough starting out that it would not make a difference
3) It is easier not to do something, than to do something
4) Good strings were going to be expensive

After a couple of months, while lord knows I'm not good, I can't honestly say I'm "bad." I strum chords in reasonable succession, and they sound like they are supposed to, and if it weren't for my singing the result would be pleasing to the ear.

So I was messing around on the internet and found out that Aquila strings (the kind lots of people here suggest) were... cheap. Like, "under ten dollars" cheap. I shopped around, found the least expensive price, and bought them.

Now - of course - was stringing them. I saw a you tube video, and it looked really hard, so I called a guitarist friend who agreed to help me. But me being a Dad and him being a Dad we were finding it hard to get together... so I watched another video.

This one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhC7b9XfRu4

There were clear explanations of what he was doing, a very clear camera angle, and he made it look straightforward. I got out my Uke, and followed along, and was able to restring it myself. By the end, I understood what I was doing to the point where next time (next time?) I won't need to watch a video. The video is 10 minutes long. It took me about 15 minutes to do the string change. Next time (next time?) it will probably take me much less time.