WTB: One Vintage Martin Ukulele Wooden Tuning Peg

MojoUke

Reaction score
MartinUkulelePeg.jpg

I just picked up a nice c.1920-1925 crack-free Style 1, but it is missing one wooden peg. Does anyone have an old Martin peg like the one pictured for sale? Thanks so much!

I'm no expert about friction pegs on an old martin uke, but I would venture to guess that if you take that peg to a large violin shop they will have baskets of old pegs and there's a very good chance you could match it. 1920 violins, unlike ukes, are not at all rare.

Duk

Hey DUK... Thanks for your response. I actually have a box of old misc. fiddle pegs and almost all of them are made of black ebony and have the string hole in the middle. Martin pegs are (I'm told) maple and are stained a slightly uneven brown color due to the grain, and have the string hole near the end. Martin uke peg buttons are smaller than those on violin pegs as well. Old Martin uke pegs that are not already on a uke are apparently reeeeeally hard to come by. Mojo

Yes, I would imagine that the majority of old violin pegs you will find are going to be ebony. But that's why I suggest you go to a high volume violin store. I don't know how large your box of violin pegs is, but in some stores you may find actual barrels of them. Many old pegs were made of other woods - and violin pegs come n many different sizes, as do violins. And since your uke peg is smaller, you might be able to re cut a violin peg pretty close. Many fine luthiers either have small lathes or they know other people who have them. Another source could be someone who turns custom furniture handles and knobs. Since your uke pegs are stained, you could even fill the old violin string holes if you wanted to. Antique type restoration of an object as easy to turn as a violin peg shouldn't be that difficult to find. Good luck in your search.

Last edited: