FS: Soprano ukulele

Status
Not open for further replies.

henderson is go

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a 17 year old builder and recently started to get into the ukulele. I had built this ukulele as a personal instrument, but after not playing it for a few months, have decided to list it for sale (I also desperately need money to help pay for college as the schools I'm interested in are very far out of my price range). I had started a thread about this uke when I completed it; it can be found here

The specs are figured maple back, sides, and neck, lutz spruce top and bracing, and indian rosewood fretboard, bridge, binding, and neck laminations. I used hot hide glue and fish glue extensively in the construction of this uke and it features an exceptionally thin, gloss lacquer finish. The ukulele includes a case.

My inspirations for this uke ran from martin to the romantic builders of the 19th century: the sweeping fretboard at the body is such a striking feature of many stauffer guitars, I felt compelled to use it in the construction of my next instrument, which this happened to be. I've also been focusing much of my design effort on a system of simple elegance: using as little embellishment as possible as to allow the beauty of the wood speak for it's self. I believe I've stayed in keeping with that by avoiding inlays and only using B/W/B purfling and simple rosewood binding.

Tone: I'd describe this uke as bright, but not overly bright. It features a good deal of warmth in the lower registers as well and is quite powerful too. I'm not all that good at describing tone, so I can provide a video if requested. The current strings on it are Martin florocarbon.

The price is $400 +shipping, and includes a hard shell tweed case.

Please not that the price has been lowered by $200 after I had thought about it decided it would be best to lower the price to get my work into the hands of players