strumming with finger vs pick

omevans10

Reaction score
First of all, I am EXTREMELY new to the ukulele. Got my first uke (mainland concert) a couple weeks ago and am using the UU+ videos and a simple book to learn.

I have not really liked the way the uke sounds when I strum with my finger. It seems to quiet and muffled. I tried with a pick and it sounds so much better. Bright, louder, crisp. So I have been playing with a pick. But just finished the UU+ video on chunking and rolling and realize I can't do either of those with a pick.

Am I making a mistake learning with a pick? Do most people use their finger? Am I not doing it right if it sounds to quiet and muffled?

thanks!

I don't know that there are stats out there but I'd guess that a sizable majority use their finger. For me, I always liked just being able to pick up the uke and playing without having to worry about another piece of equipment. I've played guitar before and picks were always getting lost and they would always slip in my fingers requiring constant adjustment. I found it to be a bit of a pain. If you are brushing the strings with your fingertip you will get a softer sound. You may want to try letting the nail grow out a bit on your strumming finger so that when you strum the strings, you are strumming them with your nail.

I agree with Mikelz. My strumming method involves me positioning my hand as if I'm holding a pick but actually strumming with the fingers. Through this method, I'm able to get a sound that's similar to a pick since my index finger nail is touching the strings and not the flesh. Not sure whether you'll like my method or not but give it a try!

You may want to try letting the nail grow out a bit on your strumming finger so that when you strum the strings, you are strumming them with your nail.