New ukulele player wanting to start a school club

Jediwnab

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I thought that this board would probably be the best place to ask this question. I am a high school science teacher and I really want to start an after school ukulele club. Here's the hitch, though. I am an absolute beginner on the ukulele. My question is should I start the club and just try to have fun learning together with the students, or should I wait until next year after I have had some experience playing? I'm hoping that there are other teachers out there who may have had this experience and could enlighten me.

One additional piece of information, in my school there are a number of seasoned ukulele players. They would certainly fill in the gap that I am unable to fill.

Thanks for any advice you may have for me!!

Many ages ago we started a soccer club in the community college I was attending. We had to have a coach/advisor and the physics professor agreed to do it even though he said he knew nothing about soccer. He was not able to advise us on technique or rules but we did respect him as our leader and coach and we got to play soccer.

Start the club this year. Invite banjo, guitar and harmonica players.

I think you should go ahead and start it this year. There are so many resources to help you out on learning how to play, including this site's main page, and your more experienced players could help you out. Good luck and well wishes on the club!

Since you're also a teacher, you could try and ask the music teachers at your school if they'd want to join in (Assuming your school has music as part of the highschool program). Eventhough my highschool music teachers didn't play the ukulele specifically, their experience with guitar/bass has really helped me in learning to play ukulele aswell.