Pono Acacia or Mainland Red Cedar Concert?

mikelz777

Reaction score
I've been playing my starter (set-up) Lanikai LU-21C for about 1-1/2 years now and I'm hoping to step up into a solid wood uke before the end of the year. Right now I'm weighing my options in case other options don't work out and I'm hoping someone can provide some feedback comparing the Pono AC Acacia concert and the Mainland Red Cedar concert.

I've heard sound samples of both but it's hard to compare them because the sound quality of the videos varies so much. If you've had personal experience, how do they compare sound-wise? I love the look of the Mainland's red cedar paired with the rosewood and the mahogany binding. The rope binding seems a bit bold. I really like the look of the grain on the Pono's acacia but the overall look is a bit plain. The price difference (before shipping) is less than $50.00 so that's not really a factor for me.

What are your thoughts? I don't plan on having a stable of ukes so this would pretty much be it for me and I want to be all-in (ship/uke/case) for less than $400.00.

Last edited:
Pono!......unless you like the Mainland better. A solid acacia a good one to start with. With string changes, can have more flexibility I think.

I won't be much help to you with the Pono, but my wife owns a Mainland (mahogany) and I am blown away by how good it sounds and how nice it looks. I feel certain that you would not be disappointed if you were to choose a Mainland.

Ideally you will find an opportunity to try before you buy. Especially if the price/sound/build quality ratio is so similar.

I think either would do you right. I haven't tried a Mainland but I did get the Pono AC (satin concert) and really like it. You can get it shipped from HMS with a Oahu hard case for $369 (I had them install a K&K pickup for another $64).

Hope this helps and happy hunting