String Questions

SeaArtNancy

Reaction score
Hi Everyone! I have a sweet little solid acacia Kala tenor that had aquila strings on it....I switched to the Worth Browns- the BT ones. My uke sounds nicer but my fingers are taking a beating on the thinner strings,plus, as a beginner, I'm having a bit of a challenge seeing them against my dark brown fretboard. (yes, I still look :)) ) and I'm having a bit of a struggle barring chords, particularly B, I find myself pressing very hard to fret on the first two frets.
Would anyone have any suggestions for strings that can play alot softer on my hands? And can someone enlighten me on what brands of strings are hard vs soft. High tension vs low tension? What is the sound/ playability differences?
Or should I just toughen up and keep with the current Worths?
Any advice would be great- you all are the BEST!!!!!
Nancy

I think nylon has a softer feel and a thicker diameter. I like the Ko'olau Alohi [available from HMS] which are very similar to the Diaddorio T-2. nice translucent purple hue too. Your action at the nut could be making the barrs on the 1st few frets harder too.

One of the major factors in playability are the strings.
Strings affect set-up, since you changed strings you may want to get your ukulele set-up.
String diameters and tension can dramatically change how your ukulele plays as well as sounds.
Some of it may just you adjusting to the new feel, but I would have the ukulele at least checked out by someone with real experience.

I've done a total turnaround from liking really hard, high-tension strings, to liking strings that are softer and more flexible. My favorites as of lately are D'Addario Nyltechs - they seem really soft and are really easy for me to fret, bend, and hammer-on.