PDA

View Full Version : New Baritone Design - Construction, LFdM

bobmyers
08-27-2013, 02:27 AM
“I am not a master player, I am not a designer, or musical engineer. I just love the ukulele in all its forms and ask for more.
So I asked Luis Feu de Mesquita to create me a Baritone Ukulele.
He is up for the challenge but needs our help. In my opinion the perfect baritone has not been made. This will be a new attempt.
We will throw away all previous standards for size, scale etc.
The new design is an open book. Luis would like to follow the successful shape of his Ukaferri tenor design. I agree, size, scale and construction are variable.
So what can this forum contribute to the final product.
Tell us all the shortfalls if any your current baritone has. Tell us the strings you find satisfying. Tell us what has worked for you.
Most importantly tell us what you would like done better. There are many high quality makers out there with baritones in their stable, are you totally happy with them, or could some change get it closer to nirvana?
This column is about collecting your comments and suggestions pro and con on this subject, with the goal of improving the breed, results being available to all builders, string makers and others involved in the process.

All are welcome to be part of this project.
Bob Myers”

Jim Hanks
08-27-2013, 02:50 AM
Wow, clean sheet of paper, eh? I'll just start with a few suggestions from my experience so far.
1. Scale - I prefer the 19" scale of my Bruko to the 20+ scale of my Lanikai.
2. Action - Both are about 3mm but I would prefer lower. The Bruko can't get any lower due to the height of the bridge - saddle just can't go any lower - so I'd recommend a lower profile bridge for more flexibility with the action
3. Side port - I don't have one but my next tenor will - probably anything I designed from the ground up would have it
4. Neck thickness - Bruko is quite chunky - I'd really prefer slimmer