Problem with nut at top of ukulele (photos included)

twigdip

Reaction score
I think I have a problem with the nut, the bit at the top of the fretboard, of my ukulele which is not flat against the fretboard but leaves a gap. can someone tell me if this is normal and if it is not, what should i do about it. i think it's messing with my tuning a little.
thanks for any help!

twigdip

p.s. my uke is a pretty basic "Tanglewood" TU-4221. (i'm a beginner)

img3780cs7.jpg

img3779vu3.jpg

img3778dh2.jpg

img3777hx4.jpg

Last edited:
If it's stuck tight and the intonation is good and it's not causing you any problems, while it's a bit unusual as far as my experience goes (which isn't that far), I wouldn't worry too much about it.

I would think its more important from a sonic point of view that the nut be fully seated on the neck without gaps. Not too sure, but seated against the fretboard wouldnt hurt as well too.. more surface area of the nut contacting the neck/fretboard = good. Only, the gap shown can collect more dust and finger grime.. maybe you can crazy glue a thin hardwood shim in there to close up the gap?

That's not normal. I would assume the intonation is off some. The nut may just have slipped back. Loosen your strings up and see if you can push it back against the fretboard.

You might have to get a small piece of cardboard to clean anything out of the gap if it doesn't seat. You can tell by the pics that bot the neck and fretbord are fitted for the nut. Nuts are Lightly glued. I mean like a tiny little dab of Elmers glue to keep it from slipping around.

Don't use superglue as it may make it difficult to remove the nut, if need be later, without damaging the nut, fretboard or neck.

weird nut

thanks for your replies.
the nut is slightly triangular so when i push it fully flush with the fretboard, the other side of the nut comes up. because the neck curves away slightly.