Should I learn the ukulele? How?

eslopez

Reaction score
For these past few months I have been seriously considering trying to learn the ukulele. I already play the trumpet, and since my neighbors don't like it, I practice that solely at my cool. For home, I thought I would practice a different instrument to increase my musical ability. This is why I ask if I should pick up the ukulele and learn how to at. I saw a very nice LU-21TE on Craigslist for $100 (that's another question, is it fine that I start on a tenor as opposed to soprano or concert?). My final question is, how should I learn the ukulele (so, how did you learn)? I will be self taught. Should I learn theory for the ukulele or just learn songs? Where would be some good online sites, YouTube channels, or books I can purchase to teach me? Thank you.

If you can hold and try some different ukes, soprano, concert, tenor, you should buy the size that fits best in your hands, sounds most like you'd like it to sound, and one that's fretboard best accommodates the size and length of your fingers when making chords. A great place to start would be Ukulele for Dummies. If you have good "search engine" skills, (youtube, google, etc.) you can find tutorials for everything including how to hold, strum, tune, finger chords, do a set up, etc. Ukulele Bartt has offered a $1 download on his beginners DVD as a Labor Day special this weekend that I encourage you to get right now..... Great chord exercises on Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp. You'll get lots of other suggestions here.

http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/f...D-Download-for-1-this-weekend&highlight=bartt

Last edited:
Ukulele Underground lessons at UU Plus. Absolutely the place to start for organized lessons starting at square one. No question in my mind...it's what is called a no brainier.