Newbie planing questions

bigphil

Reaction score
I'm starting planning my first ukulele build, this will not be a career and actually this may be my first and only uke. I'm not a complete newbie to instrument building having made several mountain dulcimers and a few hammered dulcimers.

The uke will be a tenor and primarily black walnut. I have some full 4/4 boards that I've had for at least 10 years. Including some amazing burl that I was hoping to be the back. I've resawed that board and there is some checking that may not leave big enough pieces to make the back. So the burl may wind up as the headstock laminate.

Anyway, for my first round of questions. I'd rather not make a thickness sander for just one instrument. I hand planed the boards to thickness for the dulcimers and plan to use that method for thicknessing the uke back and sides. I have some long, extruded sanding bars to get them flat and uniform although probably not as precise as a thickness sander. So does that sound like a viable approach, especially for the sides. In other words, would potential minor differences in thickness of the sides have an impact on bending the sides...

Next, I know that quarter sawn spruce is the traditional material for internal bracing. I'd rather not have a dramatic difference in color of the braces and body parts. I'm planning on making the back center brace strip, the cross braces for the back and the kerf strips all from walnut. I've done a similar thing with dulcimers in the past, anyone see any problem with this?

Thanks in advance for insight from more experienced builders.

Last edited: