View Full Version : Real or Fake Ukulele? Is it worth anything?

09-05-2013, 01:49 AM
I have recently bought a Ukulele from someone and I have tried to research the item online to find out more about it.

It has a sticker inside it and I also bought it in the original cardboard box which has a sticker on the outside that says:
The Best Quality
Famous Ukulele
No. 60
Kiwaya Co. Ltd.

I searched and found Kiwaya but the photos they have of the products do not match the one I have... Perhaps it is a vintage one? or perhaps it is fake?

Can someone help me find out about my new instrument please?


Pukulele Pete
09-05-2013, 02:32 AM
I would send a pic of the uke and a good pic of the label to Kiwaya and ask them.

Skinny Money McGee
09-05-2013, 02:42 AM
"Famous" is Kiwaya's brand in Japan.

"Founded: 1919, Incorporated: 1953. Number of employees: 8
Supply lines: Exclusive: ukuleles: Famous, Luna, K.wave, FT, KIWAYA(oveseas),Loprinzi
Non-exclusive: ukuleles: KoAloha, Seiren, T's, etc.
Chairman: Ryouji Okamoto. President: Kyoko Hara"

09-05-2013, 03:57 AM
Keep your fingers crossed, you have likely snagged a sweet deal.

09-05-2013, 04:06 AM
I can state with absolute certainty, that is a real ukulele. I've seen ukuleles before and would recognize them anywhere. ;)

Dunno if its a real Kiwaya. Out of curiosity, what did you pay for it?

Skinny Money McGee
09-05-2013, 01:43 PM
Dunno if its a real Kiwaya. Out of curiosity, what did you pay for it?

It's not a Kiwaya. It's a Famous made by Kiwaya for distribution in Japan

You can read all about "Famous" and Kiwaya Shokai here http://takumiukulele.com/kiwayajapan.html

09-07-2013, 01:43 PM
I have an exactly the same ukulele! I bought it at a music store in Japan a while ago. I dont remember how much I paid for this but probably around $40? I hope you didnt pay too much for this ukulele.

09-08-2013, 02:17 AM
I can assure you it is 100% without a doubt a real ukulele.