INTONATION - Testing it ?

JedSmith

Reaction score
Hi everyone - I'm a new uke player. I've read about intonation and wonder about testing it. I have a D'Addario/Planet Waves Mini-headstock tuner. It uses color bars to indicate when in tune. I tune one of my ukes and notice that for most of the frets up to the 12th, the note isn't perfectly in tune. (The color bars aren't dark green and centered as it is when perfectly tuned.) But, each note is correct - that is, if the note is supposed to be C, that is what is on the display. If its supposed to be a C, it doesn't show a D, for example.

My question is, how close should it be for a uke to be considered to have good intonation ? Are expensive, high end ukes right on, perfect all the way up the fretboard ? Thanks for your comments

Well I am just a beginner so I don't really know, but I do know that I got my Uke from HMS where they do a set up and each fret does tune exactly the same as the next. Even if its not centered each fret will be uncentered ( is that a word? )in the same way. My granddaughter has a dolphin from UKE Republic who also do set ups and hers also is the same. We just checked . Don't know if this was even what you meant so I hope it helps!

Yes when you check the intonation it should be the same open string and on the 12th fret.....most tuners are close but not that accurate....I tune by ear though..
what you can do is tune it with your tuner and fine tune by listening for the pitch.. of course you can buy a high end tuner like a peterson for 60.00 and it will be almost or accutate.
aside from that Get a good setup from a good luthier..Like Laura said but from an established reputable company like HMS, MIM, Uke Republic and Mainland Ukes.. as they do setups the best
for most all ukes that go out...even though you think you are paying more..you're not actually... because after you go to your luthier, it'll probally add up to more...Good Luck