What to Charge For A Gig

BBQUKER

Reaction score
Last night I did a gratis gig for my wife's yoga teacher (Yoga, Dessert and Wine). Had a couple of ladies come up and ask if I could do a gig for them. One a "Tea" and another a two hour Christmas party. My uke playing is instrumental background and I could handle both genres. Just do not know what is a reasonable rate. Should note that I am in a smallish central Wisconsin town so big city rates should not apply. Thanks - Dan

I'll play for free. I'll stop for $75.

Scooter

It all depends on how good you are...why don't you post some videos of your playing...the only reason I ask is that Ryrod is amazing so hard to compare to him.

Did not realize I was starting a joke thread. Appreciate the humor, but what do you people respond when someone asks "what do you charge for playing"? I hesitate for taking on any playing opportunity for lack of an answer. Free? Which is crazy. $25? $50?

In all seriousness, I'm not a professional musician so when someone asks what I would charge to play somewhere I just ask them what they would be comfortable with and accept whatever they offer. The reality is I'd be happy to play for free.

Scooter

I charge $35.00 for 30 minutes. Noone has a problem with that. 30 minutes does not sound like a long time but when you consider that each song takes only a few minutes, your song list must be large enough to fill that time slot.

I charge $35.00 for 30 minutes. Noone has a problem with that. 30 minutes does not sound like a long time but when you consider that each song takes only a few minutes, your song list must be large enough to fill that time slot.

That sounds more than fair.