Bluegrass Ukulele

Valerie

Reaction score
So! I signed up to go to this bluegrass club in about a week and a half. I love bluegrass music, and would love to actually, you know, play some.

I've fiddled around with Ken's various bluegrass arrangements- but part of the fun of bluegrass is jamming. And I've no idea how to jam.

Anyways- I'm showing up, with my uke... This particular club meeting is an open mic- and while I know I'll probably chicken out, I'm going to prepare a piece to play- just in case I feel the urge.

That said, I'd at least like to strum along while others play or some such.

Does anyone here play bluegrass? If so, any tips for the total novice?

(the club did say they love newbies to bluegrass- but none of the members play uke, so I'm not sure if they'll know what to do with me, lol.)

Last edited:
bluegrass jams are fun, i use to go to one every year and play bass ( but was so hard to get in a group cuz you can only have one bass in a group hehe.

as for jamming from what i have been in, one person picks a song they sing it with everyone playing along then they play a solo break of the melody or something close and it just goes around in a circle. who ever wants to play to take a shot at it. then usually they sing it again when it gets to them or the outro. by no means do you have to do a solo.
have fun!!

Does anyone here play bluegrass? If so, any tips for the total novice?

You'll have a blast, Valerie! Most bluegrass songs have only three basic chords. Typically the key is picked by whoever's doing the singing. The strum is a Boomchucka Boomchucka Boomchucka Boomchucka Boomchucka...

Here's the basic chord progressions for the uke. You can print and cut this out and tape it to the top of your uke, to help you out while searching for the chords in a song:

Key_Chord Progression.......................Key_Vamp

C - ..C.....C7....F....Fm....G7....C...........C -...D7...G7...C....