Recording audio and video - Windows versus Mac

greenie44

Big King Velour
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hello all –

I was hoping that some experienced folks here could help me plot my next move. I have been recording songs for about 2 years and videos for about a year on my Windows machine. For songs, I use a cutdown version of ProTools (got it for free with my M-Audio interface) and for video I typically use Nero Vision/Video. So far, they have served my needs, particularly the ProTools.

My main Windows machine has started to run very slowly, either because of hardware or a virus issue, so it is getting difficult to use my standard tools. (I work in IT, and have not been able to address the issues with some trying.) So I was thinking about putting a solid state disk in a laptop body I have and loading up my standard recording software.

But then I got to thinking – could I do better by going to a Mac? Aside from an iPad, I have not used a Mac in decades. Is the recording software actually better there? If so, I could save the $350 or so I was going to use to bring the laptop up to speed and use it towards a Mac recording suite. I'd bite the bullet and do the learning curve for a better result.

If you weigh in on the Mac side of the equation, how big a machine would I have to get? Could I get by with a used Mac? The machine is going to be dedicated to recording.

If anyone out there has actual experience with both platforms, I would appreciate guidance and advice. Thanks in advance.

Great move, being an IT guy of 17 years on windows/server platforms, my personal and work computers are a Macbook Pro and Macbook Air. Then learning curve is nil, and there are videos on apple.com that kinda give a "windows to Mac" get to know it.

My macs are very quick and way more stable/safe than the windows I support all day. (windows 8 drives me crazy in corporate environments)