Adjusting to a tenor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

peanuts56

Reaction score
I have been playing for about fifteen years and have been playing a concert size. I play reasonably well and have performed in public a few times. I have always wanted a Kamaka Tenor and began saving money in the last year and a half to purchase one.
I was in Hawaii for the month of July visiting my wife's family and took the plunge. I really love the instrument, it really is a work of art. We took the tour and Fred Kamaka is a real character, a really nice guy too!
I have had some difficulty adjusting to the size. My muscle memory is set for a concert size. I have been practicing as much as I can and am studying privately to improve my finger picking. I find that my left hand fatigues a lot quicker than when I play concert. Things are progressing but I didn't think there would be much of an adjustment period. I also find that my hands don't seem to know what to do on my concert size.
I am 57 and majored in music as a trumpet player so I wasn't trained as a string player. On trumpet some players can switch mouthpieces and play well on many different sizes or even double on trombone. I was never able to do that effectively.
Has anyone had a similar experience? Is my experience normal? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I came from playing guitar for 50 years when I took up the ukulele a few months, I bought a soprano, not knowing anything about sizes. It only took me a couple of weeks to realize that it was way too cramped for me, I had a hard time holding any of the tight cords. I then discovered sizes and realized tenor would be the best one for me, as is suggested for guitar players going to ukulele.