Fingerpicking on a 6-string uke

ryanshanabarger

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am still learning how to play, but I like the idea of finger picking little patterns. And Im going to have a 6-string ukulele. I know that typically these are used for strumming for volume/fullness etc.... But can anyone with a 6-string who DOES use it for fingerpicking talk to me about how they do it? I am not talking about fingerpicking melodies, just patterns.... Maybe it doesn't even need special attention for that.

Do you tune both strings to the same note? Or do you tune them an octave apart like normal but have a technique for fingerpicking?

For example, the kind of finger picking in this video, would it require some special technique to sound okay? Or is it going to be easy to play on a 6 string? As a worst case scenario I thought i could tune the two extra strings to the same note as it's twin, but then wouldn't the chords be kind of... unbalanced?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fomtyWQQkaU

Thanks for your help,

Ryan

Last edited:
I play an 8 string, so its kinda the same. When you are picking patterns it doesnt sound too bad, if you are attempting leads it sounds bad in my opinion. If you can train yourself to pick up only to hit the higher octave and down only to hit the low octave you can do some pretty unique patterns. But either way its gonna sounds strange, and strange isn't always a bad thing.

I can make a quick sounds sample but again it will be an 8 string.

Lead would be single note picking, like solos. The 8 string is tunes GgCcEA

so the video i posted, that would sound 'odd' or whatever? i thought finger picking WAS "single note picking" so im confused

I have a 6-string and while I can finger pick it, it does sound odd to me.