Bergstrom Ukuleles

SeaArtNancy

Reaction score
Hi Everyone! I hope that you are all having a fantastic day!
I recently came across a vintage 1930' or 40' Bergstrom Koa Uke...its nice and ornate ( I like em fancy!!!), looks in good/great condition, had the bridge reset....the buyer wants $300.00 for it....
I am a beginner, but am drawn to the vintage look....should I consider this purchase ( got the money in my account for it now...) or am I asking for heartache buying a vintage uke just cause it's pretty? I have a great luthier nearby... and the Seller will refund if it's not what I want...
Any info on Bergstrom Ukes- the good, the bad and the awesome or the ugly would be appreciated!!!!!
Thanks so much!!!

Nancy

Welcome to UU Nancy

I don't know anything about vintage Bergstrom ukuleles, but I do know that there is great joy in playing an instrument that you feel a connection to. If you have an expert to check it out for playability, and an option to return it if you don't like the way it feels or sounds, then how can you lose?

–Lori

First, do you you like how it feels and sounds? If so, why not consider it! Sounds like you have a money-back-guarantee so I don't see how you can lose. I have no idea if the price is "fair". How would you to compare to others $300 ukes you know about?

I was originally looking at the new Ohana SK 28, but it seems like the production release has been delayed, it has that amazing vintage look and is solid Mahogany...however, while digging around I came across this vintage Koa- and just fell in love with its character!

Bergstrom was a musical instrument store. To my knowledge, they did no manufacturing.