How do I read this uke tab?

It helps if you're familiar with the song (melody and beat) and the chord changes are placed above the lyrics. The strumming pattern is not indicated or shown on most Chord/Lyric sheets.

Thank you! How do I get the strum pattern for a specific song?

To clarify something, that's not tab, that's a chord chart. The strumming pattern is not indicated, but a lot of pop songs are in 4/4. So, maybe 1 strum per beat, 4 per bar?

But that gets boring, so try different strumming patterns, with some slaps/mutes thrown in. Down-down(D)-up(U)-D-U-D-U, or D-U-SLAP-D-U-D-SLAP.

I just started playing uke and I can't read this strumming pattern. Do I strum once for every note that I see or is it a random strum pattern? Thank You!

http://www.ukulele-tabs.com/uke-songs/maroon-5/payphone-uke-tab-22441.html
Try and resist strumming once for each note. If you are a beginner, it is best to establish a steady beat, keeping the variations consistent with the rhythm. For 4/4 time, four down strums per measure (one, two, three, four), or up and down strokes for 8 beats per measure (1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and). There are many variations of these patterns, mixing one strum per beat and two per beat (like 1, 2 and, 3, 4). Just make sure to keep on the beat.

–Lori

What everyone else said ^^

If you have a smartphone or a tablet, find a free metronome app, and play in time with that.

I don't like those sites with partial lyrics. Okay, they';re trying to avoid copyright infringement and I respect that, but they're a pain because I end up having to go elsewhere to find the whole lyrics.

Thank you! How do I get the strum pattern for a specific song?