PDA

View Full Version : Western red cedar & maple tenor

Kokkeli91
10-05-2013, 01:37 AM
Just started my first tenor ukulele this Monday and I thought to share some pics as the project makes progress. This one is going to be my third ukulele so far and I can't wait to see how it turns out! :) I'm still learning so if you have any thoughts on how to make this instrument as good as possible, feel free to share them! :)59530595315953259533

Kevdog
10-05-2013, 06:25 AM
Looks really clean- cedar top with a maple B/S is a great wood combo-

Nice work-

Kokkeli91
10-05-2013, 10:50 PM
Thanks Kevdog! This ukulele will also have ebony bindings, fingerboard, bridge and headplate.

dustartist
10-10-2013, 09:07 PM
Does Festool make a vacuum for the clamping press or is that something else?

dustartist
10-10-2013, 09:09 PM
VAC SYS! Not offered in the USA catalog...

Kokkeli91
11-10-2013, 05:29 AM
Yes dustartist it is a festool vacuum table system :D Sorry to hear that it is not offered in the USA. :( Gluing the braces with the vacuum press is super easy and actually quite fun! :) It is a really neat thing to have around when building acoustic instruments. I also have to apologize my absence with this project. I meant to upload a lot of pictures of my progress but after the first week my internet connection went down! Now I have been coping without internet for about a month and the ukulele is almost finished :D Tomorrow i'll be spraying the last coats of polyurethane and then the ukulele will be hung for about a week before the buffing and assembly.

lauburu
11-10-2013, 07:58 AM
Note to self:
To complete ukuleles in a month, switch off the Internet. :)
Miguel

rem50
11-10-2013, 01:44 PM
beautiful work!

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
11-10-2013, 02:50 PM