Confidence

Of course! You need confidence just to play it without messing up! :rofl:

Mike I know just what you mean, man. I was a wierd antisocial dude when I started because I didn't really feel good at anything. Then I started playing guitar and bass, started performing in front of a lot of people, and got told how good it sounded. Not any more good than any other musician, but you know. It just boosted my confidence to high levels. Almost too high.. these days I'm almost too sure of myself sometimes. Now I play Uke, and that takes even more confidence. You're taking this small instument infront of people and you got to play it well enough to make people believe in it. I dunno, can't really explain it better. But I totally know what you're saying.

It thrilled me, that's for sure.

As far as confidence...yeah, I guess it did. More confidence in my ability to express without talent than anything else. I think it's what finally let me try my hand at painting like I've always wanted.

It taught me this: The key to art is not being "good" but sucking boldly and honestly.

i would say yes. but the alcohol really helps too.

sesso and adelle gave me encouragement to attempt songwriting. something i would never have tried prior to visiting this website and hearing all the great original music by some of the members.

other than that, nothing like drunken karaoke to bring out the best/worst in you.;)

I never thought I'd willingly appear in a Youtube video until I joined UU. And this is after playing other instruments for years. I've battled social anxiety disorder and other similarly terrible things since I was 12, and I can honestly say that the UU community is helping me conquer my fear of playing in front of people and appearing on the internets. I know I've only posted one video so far, but it's a huge step and you guys have no idea how much it means to me to finally post something I've made. One day I hope to become as shameless as deach.