Trouble thicknessing cypress

LesterPolfus

Reaction score
I'm trying to thickness a board of italian cypress that I'll use for a uke back, but I'm having problems either with the Wagner Safe-T planer (not the original one, but I used it with other woods without problems) and planing by hand.
This wood is beautiful, has a great perfume and a bell like tone when tapped, but rips a lot.
I tried to re-sharpen both the Wagner and the hand plane, which I knew were already sharp, just to be sure, and nothing changed. With the Wagner I almost burned the piece of wood because it was very hard to make the wood scroll under the bit. By hand I can only make a very fine shave and use the plane perpendicular to the grain in order not to rip grain, so it looks like it will take forever to thickness this. I don't have a drum sander so, any suggestion? Do I make something wrong?
I already made the same operation on a couple of boards made out of different woods and I had no problem, but I'm a beginner, so it's likely that I'm missing something.
Btw the plane is a Veritas Apron Plane, the only one I have for now, is this the problem? Maybe I can solve the problem using an higher angle plane?

Pete Howlett before he had a drum sander... used to sand in the drillpress using a device similar to the Safe T planer, only it had some 60 grit abrasive paper glued to it instead of cutters..I remember he had a 1" dia hole in the centre of the sanding disc to avoid trailing marks..He must have built a stack of ukes this way..If he reads this..Maybe he can chip in and tell us more about it :)
I found this on Youtube(More or less the same idea)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l98KobHZ0rk and this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kppvo1YR0Wc

Last edited: