Any beginners in West Los Angeles?

sesame

Reaction score
I'm just starting uke and it looks like the only group/meet up in this area is the Westside Ukulele Ensemble which is for more advanced players. If you're in the beginner to early intermediate stages and would like to get together to play, let me know! I'm located in the Westwood area. Depending on the number of interested people, a few parks in the Westside or a courtyard on UCLA's campus could work as good, free places to meet.

Hi Sesame, I'm local too but it's been some time since I was a beginner (I'm one of the co-founders of Westside Ukulele Ensemble) and it kind of surprises me that in the years since I started out, nothing new has come up on our side of town in terms of uke groups.

The only ones I'm aware of that are anywhere close are the Culver City Strummers, and a bit further away, ULU Ohana in El Segundo. I played with the latter briefly and it's a good supportive environment for a beginner; I have no experience with the CC Strummers as they meet on weekdays when I'm workin' for the man.

There is a beginning ukulele class that comes up periodically at McCabe's in Santa Monica, which I highly recommend. It's where I learned to play and I've continued to take different classes and private lessons there. A beginning class was supposed to start a couple weeks ago, but it was cancelled due to low attendance. If you're interested, revisit the link I gave you periodically; one may start again in January. When I know the exact dates I'll post it to UU.