PDA

View Full Version : Solid vs Laminate

TakeBack
01-16-2009, 08:53 PM
I'm an experienced guitarist looking into ukes. Tone is important to me and I don't want to waste time/$$$ on an inferior instrument...there are several ukes I have seen in the ~$300 range, both laminate and solid.

Any recs on an instrument for this price range, or do I need to step up in price to get a richer sounding instrument?

Thanks!

UkeNinja
01-16-2009, 09:15 PM
If you search around a bit with the string "beginner uke", you will find lots of recommendations for starter ukes and models in the next price category, your ~$300. A slightly upscale Kala or a Koa Pili Koko perhaps, solid models can be had for that money. Flukes/fleas are in your price zone as well. Pull out a few more bills and you can have a Pono, your question is very general. What size do you want to play? Please elaborate a bit more, that way those who reply can better imagine what direction you want to go.

Kanaka916
01-16-2009, 10:34 PM
Since you didn't mention locale, I'm assuming there aren't too many places you can look for or try an instrument. Take a gander at Mainland Ukes (http://shop.mainlandukuleles.com/category.sc?categoryId=3) located in Indiana. Give them a call and talk to Mike (aka hoosierhiver). Here's a thread (http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8309) about Mainland Ukes.Falls into your price range and as UkeNinja mentioned, Kala or Koa Pili Koko. You can view these at MGM (http://stores.ebay.com/Musicguymics-Room_W0QQcolZ2QQdirZQ2d1QQfsubZQ2d999QQftidZ2QQtZk m).

Kekani
01-17-2009, 07:24 AM
Sorry, after re-reading the questions, then matching it up with the thread title, I edited my response out.

Lanark
01-17-2009, 07:46 AM
Scale is also important.
Your $300 is going to get you different things if you're talking soprano rather than tenor.

PineAppleExpress
01-17-2009, 09:32 AM