How to start a Ukulele shop...importing with custom logo, etc.

flyingace

Reaction score
I have long thought about opening a small kiosk or shop selling ukes around my area but also doing some web sales as well.

How does one get started finding the companies to import custom logo ukes set up to my specs.

I'd like to eventually become a builder but I have to find an income away from my current job first, then I can concentrate on setting up a wood shop and learning how to build them. I have some experience with building guitars and woodworking in general. I know it's a long long road to excellence and hard work too.

But I'm tired of working for people I don't like to make them money, I'm ready to retire in the next 10 years and would like to get something set up and started now while I'm young and enthusiastic.

Any links or help would be greatly appreciated!

will be watching this thread! Good question.

Start small. I'd guess you would have to have some type of seller's reputation before you could get lined up with spec work.
Do you know how to do set-ups? Important part of the equation.

Don't be surprised if shop owners don't jump to help on this. What worked for them may not work for you. And, it may just be me, but helping the competition? Especially if you are gonna do on-line selling. I could be wrong, though.

Last edited:
Is there actually a market for ukuleles in the Central Arkansas region that isn't being served by Guitar Center/Amazon/Wallmart at the low end and Mims/HMS/etc for everyone else?

Don't be surprised if shop owners don't jump to help on this. What worked for them may not work for you. And, it may just be me, but helping the competition? Especially if you are gonna do on-line selling. I could be wrong, though.