Bending the sides

ShortCut

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm an aspiring luthier ( I geuss you would call it that) and am trying to figure out how people bend the sides for the ukulele. Ive seen how the get put in the jig I think its called, to make the shape. But what has to be done in order for the sides to bend? Im sure you cant just start bending it right away, the wood would snap then right? Im a little confused on this if anyone would like to help clear this up!

Thanks, Mitch

I like your forms, Dave. Nice and simple. Do you find those kinds of forms are easier than the full forms (do you know what I mean by full forms?) to work with?

bender.jpg

you guys think I could use a (possibly modified) clothing iron for this? I figure, if you could use that male half-form as like a "workbench" so I'm pressing the board, using the iron, into the shape of the form, just an idea, I think it might make it a bit quicker.

edit: sorry I'm bad at wording things, I mean like, you clamp the male half-form level, either to a table, or with a bench-mounted clamp (don't know the exact name, but we all have 'em) then place the board onto said form, perhaps clamping in to one side, then using the clothing iron (again possibly modified, so as to accomodate the curves of the body) to heat, and press the wood into the form, then moving it onto that doweled-board form for drying.

was that better?

Last edited:
you guys think I could use a (possibly modified) clothing iron for this? I figure, if you could use that male half-form as like a "workbench" so I'm pressing the board, using the iron, into the shape of the form, just an idea, I think it might make it a bit quicker.