Stuck In A Rut.

DankDayz

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to this site, and I apologize if this has been posted already, I did have a look. Anyway, I've been playing ukulele for about 2 years. I still consider myself a beginner. The problem I have, is that since I've started, I've hardly learned how to pick at all and I only know one strum pattern (DDUUDU) and it's driving me crazy. I'm trying to expand my knowledge as well as I possibly can, but it's seriously starting to panic me now as my best friend is buying me a pricey electro-acoustic for Christmas and I can't possibly accept it if I'm still a novice. I know all my chords (I still have a ridiculous amount of trouble with bar chords though), I don't have a capo and I can pick my way through certain intros (Disenchanted - My Chemical Romance, Special Death - Mirah, Mona Lisa - All American Rejects, I Dare You To Break My Heart - Reel Big Fish, and Take On Me - A-Ha) but it's not enough and I'm really tired of this whole learning plateau I've hit. It might sound really silly to experts but please don't laugh at me, I know I'm a novice, but we all have to start somewhere.

Maybe you could use a bit of instruction, if teacher not available locally, consider Skype lessons or click on the Learn to Play the Ukulele tab above.

P.S. I play with some folks who only have one strum pattern after 5+ years and no picking at all. Don't be too hard on yourself! And welcome to the site.

Last edited:
I don't really have the income to pay for stuff like Skype lessons but I'll definitely check out the "learn to play" section.

Google strum patterns. There's bunches of them on Youtube.

You can make a capo with a pencil and a rubber band.

Yeah I've checked a few of them online, I guess it's making them stick after playing DDUUDU for so long thats the real problem. Thanks for the capo tip!