Strumming fingers

Ken608

Reaction score
I'm a uke newbie. For me, it is most natural and comfortable to down strum with my middle and ring fingers and up strum with my thumb.

Will this present any problems as I progress into more advanced techniques.

All recommendations with explanations are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Ken

I believe strumming like that will limit you in the future. If you really want to progress and get faster. Watch strumming videos by Aldrine on this site. Check out "how to strum" videos on YouTube by Jake Shimabukuro. If you want to get faster and better, learn the techniques as the really good players teach them, they are good because of technique and lots of practice.

I agree with Doug. Here's why...

Basic strumming is done with the index finger and the thumb doesn't normally go below the strings at all. If you're using your thumb for the upstroke in 4/4 time though, then you're wasting enough energy that you are going to fatigue faster than most people. Sure, some people do this and it doesn't affect their play at all... ask them how long they've been playing though, what kind of music they enjoy, etc.

The wasted effort will also limit how fast you can strum. It's pretty simple really. Your wrist is moving 4 or 5 times farther per strum than the average player to achieve the same results. This can be important if you ever plan on playing with other musicians.

Then there's the finger issue... One of the reasons people strum with their index finger is that it allows you to tuck the other 3 fingers safely against the palm so you don't double-strum, twang, catch a hangnail, etc., etc.. My solution is to hold my other fingers out rigidly to keep the out of the way.

Since you have 2 fingers and a thumb in use to play the same chords most people use one finger for; you are dramatically increasing the possibility of screwing up.