Different Stringing When Owning Multiple Ukes of Same Size or All the Same?

Ukulele Eddie

Reaction score
I am currently a newbie and one uke owner (tenor, gCEA). I'm curious for those who own multiple ukes in the same size, do you tend to stick with one stringing (e.g., all gCEA) or do you maybe do one in your non-dominant style (e.g., one GCEA if you tend to favor gCEA or vice-versa)?

I have played with some strung GCEA at the music shop I frequent (McCabe's in Santa Monica) and know I will be adding a few more tenor ukes over the coming years. I have yet to develop the same appreciation for low G as I have for high G, but rationally, it makes sense to me to have one strung GCEA.

But I wondered what others tend to do?

Regards, Eddie

I have several ukes and some are tuned with high-g and others have low-g.
I also play with non-standard tunings like G-C-Eb-A or G-C-Eb-Ab, for example, just to noodle around and see what comes out. I love the surprise of tuning the ukulele differently and then playing around to find some cool sounds and melodies. If you want to listen to some music made with non-standard tunings, you can look up Lisa Hannigan or Jherick Bishoff.

I always keep one uke in a standard tuning so that I can grab it and play along with the radio or run out the door to meet with friends.

Personally I would string my ukes differently just to have the variations in my playing. Otherwise it cannot really justify owning more than one type of uke.

I like high G for Hawaiian songs and for clawhammer songs. I like Low G for classic jazz and most country/R&B/Rock.

I have two tenors and now tune them both reentrant C. I used to have one linear C and the other reentrant Bb but I find it simpler to have one tuning while I continue working on music theory.