question/help in regards to my new konablaster baritone uke

iamesperambient

Reaction score
ok...i ordered my konablaster and fedex said it should be here tomorrow. I love linear tuning (im also a guitarist) but i'm considering messing around with it in reentrant tuning also. But the problem is i have no idea how to string it to do such things. Basically now all i need to do is buy electric guitar strings and leave off the E and A strings and i'm done. what gauges would i need to be able to set up GCEA tuning with the konablaster baritone?

I went with the baritone because I do enjoy the DGBE sound and wanted more fret room and bass. If blue star had made a tenor i would have probably gone with that instead but i'm happy with my purchase (very happy). Anyway if anyone has any tips let me know thanks1

With a scale of that length, it may not be possible to tune it in regular GCEA tuning as a ukulele. The strings may be too thin.
What you can do is tune it to GCEA one octave low, which gives you a rather bassy instrument.

Otherwise, on your DGBE tuned Konablaster, use a capo at the 5th fret, that will also give you GCEA (and allow you to switch back n forth).

With guitar strings, what I did was do a bit of trial and error. You can predict what gauge strings will allow what tuning.
As we're already dealing with an experimental instrument, your guess is as good as anybody's. There aren't textbook answers to an instrument that doesn't exist in textbooks.

I think an electric ukulele would sound quite good as DGBE, re-entrant D.
The high D just needs to be a slightly thicker string than the E string.

For an octave GCEA tuning, you have two options..
-Find a heavy/medium gauge "BARITONE GUITAR" string set, and see if the GCEA strings out of that set will work.

-Just use the EADG strings out of a regular electric guitar set, see how you like the tension.

Just be careful not to let the strings become too tight, they may snap or put too much pressure on the wooden neck.