10 "MUST KNOW" ukulele tunes

Jacman Rasta Bicycle

Reaction score
just trying to get opinions on the 10 "must know" ukulele songs that any ukulele play should know how to play.

Ask 10 different players you'll get 10 different answers.

It depends on the style of music you play. As a folk musician I am not really interested in playing many of the Jazz standards a lot of people will come up with.

All depends on the music you like. Oldies, Classical, Rock, Hawiian...etc.

As long as it includes Inna Gadda Davida, you will be fine.

I would hope you'd get 10 different answers from everyone. If not, when people see us coming with a uke, the eyes will roll and they'll suddenly have something urgent to do.

There are a lot of fun basic easy and moderately easy songs of course, and many will be common to a lot of players, but I'd hope folks will develop their own set of favorites from their own personal tastes. I'd also hope they change from time to time...playing the same song over and over forever after you're tired of it is something that a lot of professionals have to deal with, but those of us who play for fun can drop old favorites and pick up new ones as often as we like, which keeps it fun and challenging.

Nobody's listed anything yet.

My list is eclectic, but it's mine. Listed in no particular order.

"All My Loving" - I'd wanted to be a Beatle since, well, seeing A Hard Day's Night when I was very young. Being able to play some of my favorite Beatles songs was a primary motivation for learning to play a stringed instrument.

"Across The Universe" - Another one of my favorite Beatles songs.

IZ's "Over The Rainbow/Wonderful World" - A trite selection perhaps, but when I began playing four years ago, this song seemed to be everywhere and it was sort of the "popular music" face of the ukulele. I also thought that if people knew I played the ukulele, it'd be a song that would get requested a lot.