Buzzing C String

olivia_r

Reaction score
Hi,
I only started playing the ukulele 3 months ago, and I got my ukulele about 1 and a half months ago. However, now the C string is buzzing. It buzzes when I am not pressing on it, but when I am, it stops. What is happening and how can I fix it? Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks so much!
Olivia

Could be a few things, but the likeliest culprit is that it's strung incorrectly.

So, two things to check... first, for the C sting, is it coming down toward the nut from the inside or the outside? And second, is the string wound around the peg such that it goes toward the nut 'high' or 'low'.

If the string comes from the outside of the peg rather the inside, and/or the string comes in at a high angle toward the nut rather than a low angle, that is the likeliest culprit. ie, the string is buzzing because the angles it's strung at aren't allowing the string to sit properly and it 'wants' to move off center and thus buzzes.

There is a possibility of structural damage, but being improperly strung is far & away the likeliest problem. Even if you think it looks reasonably good in alignment, it's still worth re-stringing to see if that helps, or even swap out the string altogether.

Thanks for you quick response! I actually don't really understand what you mean by inside or outside, so I attached a picture. CUP100XXX-P.fpx.jpg It's a Cordoba UP100. I might just drop it off at a local guitar store, unless there are any other suggestions of ways I can fix this myself, being a novice. Thanks!

Ah thanks that makes it easier. So, you see how all 4 of the strings come down on the 'inside'. so that the G & C strings 'face' the E & A strings. That's the proper way to do it -- if one of the strings instead faced outward that could cause the string to not sit well. So you're at least okay there.