Greetings, Earthlings... what's with all the small, stringed instruments?

MD_UkeLuvr

Reaction score
After thinking about it for the past few years, I just took the leap and bought my first uke. It's an Oscar Schmidt OU-6 tenor, and she's a beauty! I'm very excited about learning to play and becoming a card-carrying member of the ukulele community (you folks do have membership cards and a secret handshake, right?).

I live in the U.S. state of Maryland, north of Washington DC. When I'm not creating content for government Web sites, I can usually be found biking or hiking, making jewelry or photographs, and now practicing the uke.

As a total noob in ukeland, I can use all the help I can get. Give me a shout-out and suggest some super-easy popular songs I can learn to bolster my confidence.

Be well and be kind to others -

Scott

Have you discovered chordie.com, Scott? It's a vast catalog of tunes with chord diagrams, tabs, and lyrics, and you can change the default "guitar" setting to get ukulele chord diagrams and different fretting options, tunings and keys. Print out the ones you like and assemble your own songbook.

Ukulele.nl/chordfinder.php is another great learning tool with available, printable music/diagrams. Azchords.com is also good, though it lacks the chord diagrams. There are lots of similar online resources.

You picked a great uke to begin with, and not just because I too own an OU6!

How about Lennon & McCartney's "All My Loving" as a simple, familiar song to learn?