WTB concert or tenor uke

Spud1$

Reaction score
I am a beginner who bought a blemished Kala SMLT Tenor which I have loved, my partner has just started learning and he also loves my tenor so I have been playing my granddaughters makala dolphin. It's a lot of fun and it makes me think that maybe I could get used to a concert and get a little better uke for my money. I would appreciate any thoughts and am looking to spend about $ 300.00. Thanks

A new Pono Mahogany Concert (Pono-MC) can be had for about $320 new (but you gotta add the case and shipping, as well). It's a solid wood body and top (no laminate) instrument with a good reputation.
Sometimes a used Pono-MC comes up under the Ukulele Marketplace forum here for $200.00 or less. I actually saw one on Guitar Center's used equipment pages at their Atlanta, GA store for $119.00, reduced from $199.00 about two weeks ago. I would have grabbed it, but I already had one. I also didn't want to become a uke hoarder. ;)

If you really like the tenor size, you might want to keep your eyes opened for a good deal on a used instrument. You probably won't find one of the high ended K-branded Hawaii ukes at the $300.00 price point. However, I think there's a reasonable chance you could find a used Pono Tenor or one of the other mid-range brands of ukes in a tenor size at that price. Just know that Murphy's Law dictates that you will always be able to find a stupendous deal on a uke that is always $50 to $100 more than your pre-established budget. :)