Transitioning from beginner to intermediate.

ukulelealberta

Reaction score
Hello all!

I have been playing the ukulele casually for around 6 months now. Although I have been progressing decently for the most part, I find that recently I have reached a plateau. So far I have just been learning chords, and learning different tabs from various websites. This has been good up until this point, but I find that the songs don't prove too difficult now. I want to start attempting more difficult songs, and learning more advanced techniques, but I haven't had much luck finding the resources to do so! I was wondering if anyone could help steer me in the right direction. By the way this is my first post, and I really like the forums!

Thanks so much!

Aloha and welcome to UU. Glad you joined us.

In my case learning barre chords helped open up a new level of playing. You can then ascend from a C to a G or descend from a C to a G. Start with the barre shape for C, A, and F.

Hope this helps, enjoy and keep us posted

I learned most ofthe basic chords from "The Daily Ukulele" book. When I had mastered most of the chords there, I purchased "The Daily Ukulele, the Leap Year Addition" There are more advanced chords in that book. Also, if you go to youtube and type in advance ukulele tutorials you will find many videos that will keep you busy for quite a while. Good luck.

Find people to play with. Joining an uke club helped me more than anything else.

If you are looking for instrumental tabs, check out our favorite links page.
http://www.westsideukes.com/favorite-ukulele-web-links/

The John King books are very good... get the ones with the audio CD included. Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele is a little easier than The Classical Ukulele.
Have fun exploring all the possibilities.

–Lori