String changes on the Pono AT

steel rider

Reaction score
Changed the Makanas out today for Di'adarrio's (which are Aquila's or vice-versa, made in the US). The Nyglut strings are much thinner than the nylon, which I think I like because they are easier for me to play. The sound is more punchy too.

I tried a wound Low G for a bit. I like the tone but not the feel and the booming resonance. It sounded more like a guitar to me than a uke. Switched back to non wound Low C. I should mention that right now, as a beginner, I mostly strum.

Changing the strings is very quick and really not hard. For some reason it's much faster and less hassle than my old electric guitar.

I'm much happier with these strings. I'm looking forward to getting the Fremont Blacklines with unwound Low G and the Savarez strings to see which ones I like best. I haven't figured out where to buy Living Waters in the US. Any help appreciated there.

Just some feedback for ya'll.

Living Water Strings are not sold in the U.S. You can only get them from Ken in the U.K.

Just placed an order for Living Waters 5 string set. Was waiting for the Fremont Blacklines to come from Uke Republic but just realized I ordered right when they left for the week. So I decided to put on the Savares 150r set.

I have to say the Savares sound and feel very nice. Seems much louder and clearer. The A string is much more bright. That thunking sound I heard on my and other tenors is gone. These are nice.

I really want the low G sound so I put the Di'Adarrio wound Low G back on. I like the tone but I just don't like the boominess, if that makes sense. I'm going to stay with it and see how it goes. The tone of this combination is wonderful. Deep lows and great highs.

I'm wondering if there is a less "boomy" Low G string. The Fremonts are coming with an unwound Low G but I just learned it may or may not fit in the nut slot. Between that and the LW Low Gs I hope to have a solution.