Ukulele Setup Tools?

l3uffer

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the ukulele world, but I wanted to get into the art of setting up ukuleles. Does anyone have any tips as to what tools I should buy off of Amazon or elsewhere that is less than the tool kit StewMac sells? I want to spend money on tools, but not THAT much money...
On another note, if anyone is selling these tools, I'd like to hear about that as well.
Also, any tips/tricks you can send my way would be much appreciated. ;)

The tools you will need depend on how deep you want to dive. Do you want to level and dress frets? There are certain tools that ease that job. A set of nut files would be good. Maybe a set of feeler gauges. A steel rule that measures in 64ths of an inch. Ukes don't usually need the kind of finesse that goes into an electric guitar set up, they just aren't that adjustable. Many players can also deal with a variety of set ups, since the strings are low tension and tend not to hurt the fingers. One tool I couldn't do without, but that I've never seen mentioned, is a little screwdriver with the blade edges rounded and polished and a small bend put in the blade. I use it to lift strings out of the nut slots without detuning them so the slots can be worked on. Saves a ton of time.

Yeah, basically I want to be able to setup up cheap factory ukes that have those common problems so I can provide a cheaper service to my friends and also fix some of my own ukes too -.-