PDA

View Full Version : Need Koaloha bridge help



rem50
11-08-2013, 02:41 PM
I came home from work tonight and found my "A" string unattached at the bridge. I put it back in and while I was tightening it up it popped out. Closer examination showed this:
60749
Can someone help me fix this? I do not know of any close luthiers but will send it out if I have to. If it is an easy fix I'll do it myself. Thanks for the help in advance,
Dean
This is a concert sceptre if that makes a difference

Guitar2ukulele
11-08-2013, 04:30 PM
I came home from work tonight and found my "A" string unattached at the bridge. I put it back in and while I was tightening it up it popped out. Closer examination showed this:
60749
Can someone help me fix this? I do not know of any close luthiers but will send it out if I have to. If it is an easy fix I'll do it myself. Thanks for the help in advance,
Dean
This is a concert sceptre if that makes a difference

If those are fluorocarbon strings they are thinner than your nylon strings. I found that the A strings on these need a knot that I loop twice which makes the knot end a bit bigger which will stop it from pulling out of the slot. See if this helps as I see that the slot has widened a bit where it slipped out. But if it still slips, try doing a triple loop and it should work.

rem50
11-09-2013, 08:54 AM
will do. thanks.

hawaii 50
11-09-2013, 09:02 AM
I would just make a double knot...

sometimes when you blowup the picture 10x it looks worst then it is....haha
good luck...I don't think you have to show it to a luthier....

but for info Jay Litchy or Jake Maclay(Hive Ukuleles) in your area for custom builds or advice....

rem50
11-09-2013, 02:40 PM
tripple knotted, doesn't work. may try the bead idea.

janeray1940
11-09-2013, 02:47 PM
When I use fluoros on my Kamaka, double- or triple-knotting it is not enough. I put *eight* loops in the knot for the A string (and while we're on the subject, 6 for the G string).

rem50
11-09-2013, 03:43 PM
what do you mean by "loops"? Knots?

janeray1940
11-09-2013, 04:24 PM
what do you mean by "loops"? Knots?

I'm not sure how to describe it - this is a challenge since I'm much more visual than word-oriented :)

Basically I start to tie a normal knot by making a loop and wrapping the string over itself, making a circle. Then I keep wrapping the loose end through the middle of the circle another 5 to 7 times.

Or try this - according to this site, it's an Overhand Knot (http://www.animatedknots.com/overhand/index.php?Categ=basics&LogoImage=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=www.animatedknots.com). See how in the finished knot the end sticks out after only one wrap? Just take that end and keep wrapping until you have something substantial enough to not pull through the bridge.

Kdogg
11-09-2013, 05:11 PM
What your tying janeray1940 is called a surgeons loop here is an example. you are just doing it with a single line and not ending with the loop at the end...

http://www.animatedknots.com/surgeonsloop/index.php

janeray1940
11-09-2013, 05:29 PM
What your tying janeray1940 is called a surgeons loop here is an example. you are just doing it with a single line and not ending with the loop at the end...

http://www.animatedknots.com/surgeonsloop/index.php

Exactly! Or another way to look at it: a standard barrel knot (http://www.free-macrame-patterns.com/barrel-knot.html), but in Step 3, you continue looping over and under a few more times.