Ukulele Confusion

afeatheredhat

Reaction score
What are the weirdest responses you've got out of people seeing your Ukulele?

I've had about four different people from within my family since Christmas ask me, "Is that a mandolin?" And then, when finding out that its a Ukulele, ask, "Well then, what's the difference between a Ukulele and a Mandolin?"

I volunteer at a local church youth group and I brought in my uke one day--I actually had one of the kids ask me, "Is that a banjo?"

edit: Oh, and I have had HEAPs of people ask me, "Why do you have such a small guitar?" or "Is that your toy guitar?"

The only responses I've gotten are people saying it's stupid, and laugh... One of my friends even said its not a real instrument, and when I told him it was, he got mad and said "You don't know s**" even though I've been playing for 4 years... I think I would know by now if it wasnt an instrument. The only people that dont laugh and make fun of me for it, is the other people in pacifica ukes.

The only responses I've gotten are people saying it's stupid, and laugh... One of my friends even said its not a real instrument, and when I told him it was, he got mad and said "You don't know s**" even though I've been playing for 4 years... I think I would know by now if it wasnt an instrument. The only people that dont laugh and make fun of me for it, is the other people in pacifica ukes.
That's so strange to me. I hear people say that, but I have never gotten that response. People can really suck, it seems. Glad people here seem to be a bit nicer.

People think that its cool. Last time I went through airport security the guard took it out of the X-Ray machine and played a song.

Whenever I have friends over, they ask me to play my uke for them. (That is, if I'm not already playing it. ;) ) Not sure how seriously they take it as an instrument, but they appreciate it nonetheless.