tuning problem

Lumpy Wafflesquirt

Reaction score
I have a tanglewood TU 6.
once the strings settled down it has kept in tune quite well, but I have noticed recently an issue with the C string.
If i tune it to C with an open string, when I put my finger on the 1st fret it is very sharp, almost a semi tone so it plays D instead of C#.
Is there anything I can do about this.
I am new to stringed instruments so will need a non-techy explanation.
The other strings seem to be OK.

If I tune it so the first fret is in tune, obviously the open string is out. :^(

TIA

There are people on UU who are better able to give you a definitive answer, but here's my stab in the dark:

The nut slot on the C probably isn't deep enough, or it's too narrow for the gauge of string, making the string sit too high in the slot.

I'm kinda sorta with TBK on this, but have you tried changing the string? If you've changed the strings before, they may be a slightly larger size than the factory used, which would cause the exact issue that TBK pointed out. If you've never changed the strings, I would guess that the string is just outlived it's usefulness. Some players change strings regularly because even the best strings just go bad over time...

Unfortunately that's the good news. I've been doing a little reading on your ukulele. My admittedly minimal research suggests that the strings they put on at the factory are pretty awful. But, TBK could still be right on about that nut. About 20% of the reviews I read were somewhat less than complimentary about the company's standard of craftsmanship. If the issue is the nut, as TBK suggested, you'll probably need to change the string to fix the problem, so you might as well change them all.