PDA

View Full Version : Bending sides

young-lecky
12-01-2013, 02:08 AM
I've decided to take the step of making my own ukulele.

I'm a carpenter by trade so I'm used to working with wood and my hands, although I've never made an instrument before.

I don't want to buy or make the type of bender I see a lot of on here which includes the heat blanket, instead I'm going to use a metal pipe to heat and bend the wood around it. (I've seen it done on the internet a few times and thought it would be better than steaming)

My question is, ruffly what temperature would the pipe need to be so it heats the wood enough to make it bend but not char it?

I know every wood is different but I'm looking for a ball park figure.

bigphil
12-01-2013, 03:45 AM
I can't help you with the actual temperature, but I think you'll find that if the pipe isn't hot enough to char the wood then it will also not be hot enough to bend it. You must achieve a balance in your technique, getting it hot enough to bend without scorching it. That is part of the skill required to use this method. Even folks who have lots of experience will occasionally scorch wood on a pipe. Practice on scrap before attempting your actual instrument sides.

I recently started my first uke build but I made a simple side bender that uses light bulbs instead of a heat blanket, it has a lot lower learning curve to obtain excellent results. You can find pictures of my bender in my build thread.

Rob-C
12-01-2013, 04:45 AM
You should make up a bunch of practice wood to experiment with - bending wood by hand is a very tactile process and you need to develop a "feel" for how the wood is reacting. I'd recommend maple as an easy wood to learn with.