A few guitalele questions

Helms

Reaction score
Hey guys!

I've made a couple of posts previously regarding guitalele, but have a few questions I hope some of you can help me answer!
I've had my eyes on the Gretsch Guitalele and I've had it on my wish list for Christmas since list month, but unfortunately the European dealer sold out and won't have a new shipment until January.

Therefore I am looking for another model, hopefully something that I could wrap my fingers around and play around Christmastime.

My question is, however - what models can you recommend?

I'm looking for a preferably solid wood guitalele, but am open to laminates, as long as the sound and overall quality is good.
I've been playing guitar for a few years, so I'm looking for something better then Yamaha G1.
I've tried it and quickly learned that it was not what I was looking for.
The price range is in the 400-500$ range.

One of my main issues with the G1 was the neck being wide to narrow. I'm sure it's something you'll just have to get used to, but a bit more space between the strings, wouldn't hurt.
I've been looking at both Cordoba guilele (which, from what I've read has a slightly narrower neck than the Yamaha) and the Ortega guitalele.

Does anyone know of any other brand? And I'd like it very much if the neck was wider.

I still have my heart on the Gretsch. It's beautiful and sounds amazing! But not available before January so I'm open to suggestions! :)

Last edited:
Check this one out. Hope you can ignore the noisy little critters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7ApTpmelU4

A bit above your budget, but scroll down to guitarlele's. Look for sales this time of year, especially on Mele's Ebay store.

http://www.meleukulele.com/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=52&cat=GUITARS+&+BARITONE

What a melee going on behind the Mele player! ;) Sweet sounding instrument! Though I'm still happy with my Yamaha GL1 - astounding value for money instrument.