Finally Making Progress

BigMamaJ40

Reaction score
I started playing the uke almost a year ago. As a guitar player, I figured it would be easy enough, right? Not quite!

It started out great. I loved how "chunking" gave me access to rhythms I could not replicate on the guitar. I started by learning some of the ragtime classics. Now I want to expand my strumming to more chord/melody style, but I have been having a difficult time with it.

I have only been getting to play a few hours every weekend, and I now realize I need to PRACTICE more regularly if I am going to improve. No more just winging it.

So, I spent time today learning Glen Rose's arrangement of Jobim's "Wave". It seemed impossible at first, but I took it bar-by-bar, and now, by Jove, I have the A section down now! A good uke day!

That's awesome BigMama and encouraging for all of us. Yeah, chord melody arrangements do take time initially, but that extra time is so worth it. And every tune you learn is more background info for the next one. So, after awhile things just start to make sense and you will find the speed of your improvement greatly accelerate. Cheers and happy uke day! :)

I started playing the uke almost a year ago. As a guitar player, I figured it would be easy enough, right? Not quite!

It started out great. I loved how "chunking" gave me access to rhythms I could not replicate on the guitar. I started by learning some of the ragtime classics. Now I want to expand my strumming to more chord/melody style, but I have been having a difficult time with it.

I have only been getting to play a few hours every weekend, and I now realize I need to PRACTICE more regularly if I am going to improve. No more just winging it.

So, I spent time today learning Glen Rose's arrangement of Jobim's "Wave". It seemed impossible at first, but I took it bar-by-bar, and now, by Jove, I have the A section down now! A good uke day!