PDA

View Full Version : How do you "trust" ordering a uke online?

Preacher
12-07-2013, 03:33 PM
I really like to hear the different models of ukes in person so I can get an accurate idea of the sound. So I've been to several music stores in the last couple weeks, some of them pretty "high end" in what they carry. Except for the ukuleles, apparently.

At one store, I tried a $400+ Gretsch concert. If this was my only encounter with a Gretsch, I'd assume they were crap. The friction tuners wouldn't even hold the strings in tune. I tightened the A string, and it unwound about a quarter turn when I let go of it. And while I'm still a newbie at this, I'm guessing I shouldn't be able to fit 3 quarters in between the strings and the frets of the expensive Islander uke I looked at.

In another store, I played a Mainland tenor that had a terrible buzz on one of the strings. From everything I've heard about him, I'm pretty sure Mike wouldn't send it out like that. But it's probably been handled by a hundred people and Lord knows what's been done to it.
Very few stores had more than a couple ukes in tune. So buying from a store is not looking very promising.

But that means I have to do it sight unseen. Given how much sound can vary from uke to uke, even within the same type and wood, how can I know I'm getting something good? There's Mainland, Mim's, HMS, Uke Republic---all have great reputations on here. But what if it doesn't sound like I had hoped based on some YouTube video I saw?

Not to be too picky about it, but if I'm going to spend $300 or more, how can I order with confidence?

Right now, my only plan for a new uke is to drive 90 minutes out of my way to visit Mainland Ukes when I'm in Indiana next month and hope I find something that works for me. (Which, by the way, I'm really looking forward to, but still!)

(Sorry for the length of this rant.)

RichM
12-07-2013, 03:40 PM