Anyone about to start KEV's Quickstart Fingerstyle?

Meteorite

Reaction score
Just starting now, and I figured it might be nice to have some mutual hand-holding and/or encouragement from people doing the same thing!:)

No but I want to. I just have to wait till after the holidays since money is always tight this time of year. Will you post how it's going for you. I'm not sure if I'm ready for it, I consider myself beginner although I've been working at it for 7 months. I do have quite a few chords down and am much better at the barre chords so I'm hopeful. Let us know what you think!!

Is this in reference to the book/CD or is there another medium?

Is this in reference to the book/CD or is there another medium?

Yes, Book/CD - saw someone post here that they had had success with it and I decided to bite the bullet. I have other material but figured if I forced myself to work through the exercises in a very disciplined way I might achieve something!

Yes, Book/CD - saw someone post here that they had had success with it and I decided to bite the bullet. I have other material but figured if I forced myself to work through the exercises in a very disciplined way I might achieve something!

Look forward to hearing your thoughts. Think I'll add it to my Christmas list. ;-)

Hurray! Now come the difficult parts.
First the hand position on page 10 looks like you need a broken wrist. Second the first exercise 'Riffin the blues' (track 8) is made up of all those things I've avoided as too tricky; hammer-ons and pull-offs. Going to have to dig out the metronome and grit my teeth

Last edited:
urray! Now come the difficult parts.
First the hand position on page 10 looks like you need a broken wrist. Second the first exercise 'Riffin the blues' (track 8) is made up of all those things I've avoided as too tricky; hammer-ons and pull-offs. Going to have to dig out the metronome and grit my teeth