The "I bought an East-Start Semihollow electric uke" thread!

pootsie

Reaction score
The orders are in, this purchase group is now closed:
http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com...-would-like-a-deal-from-a-Chinese-uke-company
:music:
And so the waiting begins. I suppose if it works out nicely, another group may form to try it again. And if they turn out not so great, of course, we should let the community know.

The ukes are listed here:
http://www.east-start.com/products/...-solid-hollow-body-electric-jazz-ukulele.html

So, I promise a review when mine comes in. Perhaps some others could, as well? I am a novice uker at best, so a better musician might be more unsucky than I am ;)

Until then, I am posting here that I am waiting. And waiting. Is it here yet? No. Now? Not yet. How about now? Still not here ....

Discuss.

Just a question. What are the import taxes in the U.S.A. to buy an ukulele from China?

I've bought a variety of items directly from China, including a uke, there were no additional fees/taxes then what I paid when I ordered.

And if they turn out not so great, of course, we should let the community know.

Pootsieman, these are Kamoa Evolves, without the name or cost. I can't see how you can go wrong :)

Jealous of all 20 of you. I love the single cutaway models.

I sent an email to East-Start last night to not rush the order, to make sure they are constructed well. Also, to inform me when they receive the ukes, which they say will be sometime in late January.

Last edited:
You can contact them directly, on that web page use the 'Contact Us' tab at the top. That's what I did when I wanted the arch-top I saw. They gave me a single price and a volume price. In my case the single was $400, volume of 10 was $180 each, volume of 20 was $165 each, plus $80 DHL 2-4 day USA shipping, $90 elsewhere, they also gave us a volume deal for a hardcase of $28. There is also a 4.5% PayPal fee on top of everything.

Last edited: