The right strings for your uke

Chordpoems

Reaction score
There's nothing particularly useful or insightful to be gained from this post. I just wanted to express and share the awesomeness of that feeling when you find that PERFECT set of strings for a specific ukulele. And how cool it is that we live in a time that so many choices and alternatives are in our reach, that good and decent instruments are available and accessible. And that what may have been dismissed as only a mediocre ukulele 20 years ago can now be matched with the ideal set of strings and be brought it to its full potential, so that even modest instruments can be made to sound pretty darn good.

What a cool time to be a musician!

I guess, for the purpose of being a little more specific and constructive, I'll point out that a LaBella "folk singer" black nylon guitar set (just the the DGBE strings) are a pretty killer match for the Lanikai SMP-TCA tenor uke with a low G.

Last edited:
Being a newbie, I have enjoyed experimenting with different strings on my Cordoba 35TS. I don't have the best ear (and I'm being generous to myself!) and have been quite surprised at how different the three strings I've tried felt and sounded. My uke came stock with D'Addorio Nylgut but I've also tried Living Water and D'Addorio Pro-Arté. On this uke, I much prefer the latter among these three (like the sound of both the LW and the Pro-Arté but much prefer the feel of the latter). But I look forward to trying others as well. It's all part of the journey into this new to me infatuation.

Yep...it's the strings that make the uke! Well...that's going a little far but strings really do make a difference. I've got a couple of ukes that I was ready to sell until I found the right strings for them.