Some info about the Baritone

drewp

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been playing a Koaloha tenor exclusively for the last 2 to 3 years or so. I'm the type that prefers to connect with one instrument rather than have a quiver of instruments to choose from. After seeing (and hearing) a few videos of a baritone uke, I am becoming interested in maybe trying one out. I can appreciate the warmer, lower tones....similar to a guitar. My question (and I've googled and searched this topic) is: does the baritone uke play more similarly to a guitar (chords, etc) since I believe it is tuned completely different than my tenor? Does this mean I will have to completely learn (or re-learn for that matter) the chords played on a guitar/baritone vs what I've learned on my tenor? Thanks for any info....particularly by you baritone lovers out there!

All the same chord geometry will work fine and transfer directly to the baritone. It is tuned a fourth lower than tenor gcea so the chord letter names differ (and match guitar chords). The baritone typically doesn't use re-entrant tuning so its very similar to a "low G" tuning where the 4th string is the lowest in pitch.

If you play a G major (tenor chord shape) on a baritone, it will be a D major. If you play a C major it will be a G major. You won't have to relearn the instrument, although you will have to make some mental adjustments. If you capo a baritone at the 5th fret, it will be tuned just like a tenor low G uke.

Hope this helps/makes some sense! I'd say go for it, baritones are super fun!

If the baritone is tuned D,G,B,E then it is the same key as a guitar. Chord shapes are chord shapes, they are just in a different key. If the tuning for your tenor is G,C,E,A, the chord shape for a G would be a D for the baritone.

It's not a matter of learning new shapes but is a matter of learning the new names for the chord shapes played. A G in C (tenor) tuning is a D in G tuning(baritone) etc. Hope that makes sense.