I know we would be good friends...

ukuleletim

Reaction score
Recently I have had a bout with mortality. It got me to thinking about many things, one of which is the passing of John King.

John King died a few months after I started playing ukulele, right after I discovered his genius and love for the instrument. I still feel that loss today.

I have humbly strived to keep his philosophy of campanela (campanella) technique for the ukulele alive, to uncover, discover and share his secrets.

Going out on a limb, I think he would have been a good friend of mine.

And I miss him.

Great thread Tim. It's wonderful that John's music and thoughts are still with us.

His website is still running: http://nalu-music.com/
Thank goodness.

It wouldn't be the holiday season without John's arrangement and playing of the Carol of the Bells.

Last edited:
Tim, I'm new to the ukulele, so thank you for bringing John King's work to my attention. And DocJ, thank you for posting the video. What a nice and well-played rendition!

WOW! Never even heard of the guy. What a talent. I can see why he is missed.

I guess I take it for granted that everyone would know about him. This video of him and James HIll (you know about James Hill, right?) really turned me on. Al Woods (Ukulele Hunt) tabbed Larry O'Gaff and I later tabbed Swallowtail Jig.

And this would be my version of their performance. I rearranged James Hill's part for my friend Jim (on the right) to play in more of a John King style as opposed James' monostrum. It is very challenging but also very satisfying to play.

Recently I have had a bout with mortality. It got me to thinking about many things, one of which is the passing of John King.

John King died a few months after I started playing ukulele, right after I discovered his genius and love for the instrument. I still feel that loss today.